Disable iPhone and iPad Photos Sync

0 votes
asked Apr 23 by Mary
I have an iPhone 6S and an iPad. When I take photos from one of the 2 devices photos and videos sync to each other.  I don't want them to sync. When I try turn off (upload to my photo stream. I get a message: (turning off photo stream will delete all photo stream photos from iPhone).

I don't want my iPhone photos deleted.
 
How do I stop syncing and keeping my photos on my iPhone and the iCloud.

Thanks.

1 Answer

0 votes
answered Apr 23 by ihelpadmin (19,480 points)
 
Best answer
You can’t stop syncing and keep the photos on iCloud. You can turn iCloud off on one so they won’t sync together, but the photos will only upload and show to the one that stays connected to iCloud. The photos that will delete are the ones that were synced from the other device, photos on that device will stay. You should download photos to the device before turning off iCloud though, so you don’t lose anything that are in iCloud, but not fully downloaded.

ICloud is not meant to be a Photos Storage, it can be used one way too upload, but not download. ICloud is meant to be a syncing service so that photos and such can be seen from any device on your Apple ID.
commented Apr 23 by Mary
Thank you so much.